Bumrah leads India to 47-run win over Afghanistan in Super Eight at T20 World Cup

MLC stars Netravalkar, Khan and Patel look to continue USA’s historic run in the T20 World Cup Super8s

DALLAS: Team USA made history by advancing to the Super 8 stage of the 2024 International Cricket Council Men’s T20 World Cup for the first time, which was decided by defeat in Broward County.

The United States’ advance against cricket powerhouse Pakistan sent shockwaves around the world and galvanized Americans to rally behind their national team.

Team USA, as the host nation making its World Cup debut, attracted worldwide attention. After convincingly defeating Canada in the first match, the team also won against Pakistan in a thrilling super over to secure second place in Group A.

Players aware of Major League Cricket on Team USA include: Ali Khan, Nitish Kumar and Shadley Van Schalkwyk (Los Angeles Knight Riders); Steven Taylor, Nosthush Kenjige, Monank Patel and Shayan Jahangir (MI New York); Corey Anderson (San Francisco Unicorns); Harmeet Singh (Seattle Orcas); Milind Kumar (Texas Super Kings); and Andries Gous, Saurabh Netravalkar and Yasir Mohammad (Washington Freedom).

With the United States scheduled to face South Africa, the West Indies and England in Group 2 of the Super 8 round, MLC CEO Vijay Srinivasan said the team’s advancement to the next stage of the home World Cup was an incredible achievement.

“Congratulations to Team USA who, in their first World Cup appearance, gave us three exciting cricket matches against the best teams in the world and secured a position in the Super 8.

“This is a historic moment for the sport, especially for our Major League Cricket players who represent the USA. We hope this will inspire boys and girls across the country to pick up a bat and ball this summer and encourage sports fans to attend an MLC match or tune in.

“The United States’ promotion to the Super 8 means they will automatically qualify for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2026, which will provide Major League Cricket with a strong platform for continued development.”

The six MLC teams – Los Angeles Knight Riders, MI New York, San Francisco Unicorns, Seattle Orcas, Texas Super Kings and Washington Freedom – boast some of the world’s best international and domestic talent as they prepare to represent their countries in the World Cup .

All 47 MLC players who featured in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, listed by team, are:

Los Angeles Knights

Ali Khan – USA

Nitish Kumar – USA

Shadley Van Schalkwyk – USA

Andre Russell – WI

Shakib Al Hasan – Bangladesh

David Miller – South Africa

Josh Little – Ireland

MI New York

Steven Taylor – USA

Nosthush Kenjige – USA

Monank Patel – USA

Shayan Jahangir – USA

Tim David – Australia

Nicholas Pooran – West Indies

Rashid Khan – Afghanistan

Kagiso Rabada – South Africa

Trent Boult – New Zealand

Anrich Nortje – South Africa

Romario Shepherd – West Indies

Unicorns of San Francisco

Corey Anderson – USA

Matt Henry – New Zealand

Josh Inglis – Australia

Sherfane Rutherford – West Indies

Haris Rauf – Pakistan

Pat Cummins – Australia

Seattle killer whales

Harmeet Singh – USA

Quinton de Kock – South Africa

Heinrich Klaasen – South Africa

Michael Bracewell – New Zealand

Ryan Rickelton – South Africa

Obed McCoy – West Indies

Imad Wasim – Pakistan

Superkings of Texas

Milind Kumar – USA

Mitchell Santner – New Zealand

Devon Conway – New Zealand

Aiden Markram – South Africa

Daryl Mitchell – New Zealand

Naveen-ul-Haq – Afghanistan

Marcus Stoinis – Australia

Washington’s freedom

Andries Gous – USA

Saurabh Netralvakar – USA

Yasir Mohammad – USA

Marco Jansen – South Africa

Akeal Hosein – West Indies

Glenn Maxwell – Australia

Travis Head – Australia

Lockie Ferguson – New Zealand

Rachin Ravindra – New Zealand

The second season of MLC will start on July 5.

Leave a Comment